366 days to begin again . . .

Each year on January 1st many people make a New Years Resolution. In my experience, very few of those resolutions are accomplished. Many people join gyms or diet, looking better and feeling better seems to be the number one goal we all have. Sadly, many of us do not follow through on those resolutions.

Committing to such a large goal or resolution seems like we set ourselves up for failure. Instead of a large resolution, maybe if we try one small goal for the day, the week, or even the month, it might be something we could accomplish and feel good about ourselves and our accomplishment.

This past year has been a very hectic year for me and my husband. I am looking forward to a year where we can be more settled, rest and relax more than we did in 2019. Instead of making a New Years Resolution, I have decided to set a goal for myself each week. It could be something as simple as taking a lunch break, enjoying a cup of coffee in the quiet of the early morning, without the television on. These are small goals but very attainable, with each goal I may begin to feel a sense of accomplishment and an inner peace.

I photographed a white rose, because to me, white signifies purity and simplicity. Innocence, something we lose as we get older, but look at how a child plays or views something for the first time, there is such a wonderment, an awe as they do something for the first time. If we, as adults, could get a small piece of that wonderment back, how excited would we feel.

How many times do we wish we could simply rest and not be bogged down with chores, work or maybe just life in general. Life is busy! In that busyness we lose ourselves, it’s important to take a small amount of time each day to rejuvenate yourself. Rest, relax and rejuvenate, those should be the words you use going into this new decade. Find the wonderment, even if it’s only something small, we all need to begin somewhere, why not now?

My word for 2020, after taking a short quiz, was REST (you can take the quiz here). Maybe God knew how hectic my life was last year and He has taken me under His wing. Rest can come in may forms, it can be physical or simply a state of mind. Whichever way He leads me, I am open and willing to follow.

As we head into a new decade, I hope you find your small piece of rest and relaxation. As always, thank you for stopping by, wishing you all a Happy and Healthy New Year!

13 Replies to “366 days to begin again . . .”

  1. Exceptional!! Your writings are inspiring Debra. We can all use a little “REST” in our own way: rest, energize, satisfy and treasure!! Love it! Happy New Year!!

  2. Happy New Year Debra! The white rose is perfect for your post. I agree with you that smaller resolutions are better for us in the long run. I took the quiz and mine word came back Bloom. Thank you for sharing your lovely words and photos – you’re very inspiring indeed! I wish you rest you’re needing in 2020!

Leave a comment